T: 01429 272684 | E: admin@sacredheart.bhcet.org.uk


School Governors

Foundation Governors are appointed by the Diocesan Trustees on behalf of the Bishop of Hexham & Newcastle to ensure that the school and it's teaching reflects the values of the Catholic Faith.  Other Governors are voted onto the Governing Body by the groups they represent.

The Governing Body have an essential role in ensuring that the school fulfils its obligations to meet National Standards by providing a broad and balanced curriculum to all pupils, as well as operating within the financial, legal and health and safety expectations of the Department of Education.

They consist of a cross section of representatives of those who have an interest in the correct operation of a school to ensure that all pupils reach their potential. Each Governing Body membership therefore comprises representatives from the staff, parents, community and local authority.

They currently meet as a full Governing Body every half term.

All governors are responsible for the monitoring of all areas within the school, especially those identified in the post Ofsted Action Plan.

Governors also act as a ‘critical friend’ of the school by offering advice and challenge to ensure the statutory functions of the school are met. The Headteacher and staff are directed by the Governing Body to implement policy and procedures daily and in the longer term.


Foundation Governors

Mr Christopher Collins

Rev Michael Griffiths

Mrs Anne Sanderson

Mrs Krancioch-Daniel

Alexia Emmerson

x1 Vacancy


Amanda Howell

Parent Governor

Jodie McNally

Staff Governor

Amanda Palmer